Free consultation 24 hours a day 7 days a week!


Do I need a lawyer if I was injured while working?

If you are injured at work, obtaining legal representation when the employer and their insurance company do not comply with the laws. A workplace injury entitles you to benefits that include medical treatment, temporary disability payments to cover time lost from work, and sometimes compensation for permanent disabilities. Even though you are legally entitled to these benefits, it does not mean you will receive payment in a timely and fair manner from the insurance company or your employer.

A workers’ compensation attorney will work to guide you through the claims process to ensure your legal rights are protected and compensation will not be left on the table. If you have been injured on the job, speak to your Florida personal injury attorney for a free consultation by calling 1-800-872-4878. 

What are the benefits of injured workers in Florida?

The Florida workers’ compensation program provides the following benefits to injured workers:

Medical care

You have the right to have all medical expenses paid if incurred as a result of the injury. However, only the costs of treatments that have been shown to alleviate or cure the specific injury are paid. Treatment requests are evaluated according to the utilization review, which ensures that the treatments requested by your doctor are robust and legitimate.

Temporary disability

If you cannot return to work temporarily due to the injury, you could be compensated for temporary disability benefits, which is a portion of the lost salary. Injured workers are entitled to 66 percent of their average weekly earnings before taxes with temporary disability benefits for a maximum of 104 weeks.

Permanent disability

For an injury that is so severe, leaving you unable to work, you may receive permanent total disability benefits. This amount is predicated on your disability rating, ranging from 1-100 percent, occupation and title, your salary 13 weeks before your injury, and the date of the accident.

Work injury lawyer in Florida to claim compensations

What is reemployment services after an injury?

Reemployment service is a program designed to help injured workers obtain other employment when their illness or job-related injuries prevent them from returning to their old line of work. A few reemployment services include; vocational counseling, training and education, resume writing, vocational evaluation, and much more. 

What happens if I am a relative of a fatal accident victim?

If a work-related injury or illness results in death, the deceased worker’s family or dependents are entitled to compensation. If a death occurs within one year of the work-related accident or five years of continuous disability, the following compensation may be applicable up to a maximum of $150,000:

  • Funeral expenses up to $7,500
  • Educational benefits to the surviving spouse
  • Compensation to dependents

In a fatal work accident, it is essential to obtain the legal help of a personal injury and fatal work accident attorney (Work compensation attorney) to fight for compensation. In addition, how you act after a severe injury or a deadly work accident will significantly impact the lives of the accident victim’s family members. 

How long do I have to file a work injury claim? 

You have two years from the date of injury to file for workers’ compensation benefits. However, you must report your injury to your employer no later than 30 days from the day the accident occurred. If your employer is not willing to help, it is crucial to act quickly and file a workers’ compensation claim with a work accident attorney. The actual time it will take for your case to be resolved is based on several variables, including; 

  • The extent of the injuries, 
  • The number of medical professionals and treatments you need,
  • If the insurance company denied your case, and 
  • If your workers’ compensation claim needs to go to trial. 

Some injuries require years of medical evaluations and treatment to accurately determine the consequences on the injured person’s ability to work.

How is compensation paid out in a workers’ compensation case?

A monetary compensation provides monetary benefits, paid weekly, and leaves the possibility for the insurance company to pay for future medical treatments. 

A compromise and release provide lump-sum compensation but closes off the possibility of future health care payments. A compromise and release can only occur with the agreement of both the injured worker and the insurance company. Only a qualified lawyer can advise you to defend your interests and obtain the compensation you deserve and necessary to cover all the expenses derived from the work accident. 

How much does a Florida work injury & compensation lawyer cost?

Our Florida workers’ compensation attorneys work on a contingency basis, and you do not pay until there is an award or agreement. If we win your case, our attorneys will take a percentage of the benefits awarded. Complex cases may require higher fees. 

To find out how much your work accident case is worth, or for more information, contact our Florida work accident attorneys for a free case evaluation by calling 1-800-872-4878. We are available seven days a week, 24 hours a day. 


Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Everything you need to know about hiring A personal Injury attorney

Scarlett Estevez

I was referred to this office by a friend of mine who had her case handle by attorney, Marcos Gonzalez. I was very pleased with Mr. Gonzalez and his staff. Everyone is very nice and I got a great outcome on my settlement. I Would recommend this firm to anyone looking for a PI or Workers’ compensation attorney. Thank you guys! Keep up the good work. Scarlett Estevez

Vanessa Orozco

Excellent friendly office!!! Had an amazing experience everyone was super helpful and they worked their tails off to get me max dollar for my case .. Marcos Gonzalez amazing person hire him you won’t regret it !!!!

Vanessa Orozco