"NO FEE UNLESS WE WIN”

PERSONAL INJURY LAWYER IN FLORIDA

1-877-USA-HURT

872-4878

Free consultation 24 hours a day 7 days a week!

HOW MUCH TIME DO YOU HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM FOR ACCIDENT INJURIES IN FLORIDA?​

If I Have Been Injured In A Car Accident How Long Do I Have To File A Claim For Accident Injuries?

Under the statute of limitations in Florida, you have four years after the date of the car accident to file a claim. If you pass the deadline you will likely be denied to recover compensation. Although four years may sound like a long time, there are often exceptions to the limitation that people do not know about, depending on the severity and injuries of the accident. That is why it is essential to contact experienced auto accident attorneys at Advocates USA at 1-800-872-4878 to ensure you are well informed about your legal rights.  

What Are The Exceptions To The Four Year Statute Of Limitations In Florida?

The four-year statute of limitations is a straight forward car accident involving a negligent driver. The exceptions include:

Wrongful death. If someone died because of a negligent driver, this would be classified as a wrongful death claim, and there is an exception to the statute. In a wrongful death claim, you have two years to file a claim before your limitation is over, and you lose the opportunity to recover compensation.

Government. If you are filing a claim against an employee in the government, you have three years from the date of the accident. Also, you can’t file a lawsuit until a complete and thorough investigation of 180 days (6 months) has been conducted, as long as the government hasn’t denied the claim. 

How Long Do You Have To File A Claim With Your Insurance?

Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state, and every driver is required to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. If you have been involved in a car accident, regardless of who was responsible for the accident, you first file a claim through your PIP insurance.  

If you have been injured in an auto accident in Florida, under PIP insurance, you have 14 days to seek medical attention. If you fail to adhere to this deadline, you will lose your right to recover compensation through PIP insurance.

Can A Lawyer Help Me File A Claim For My Car Accident In South Florida?

If you have been involved in an auto accident, truck accident, motorcycle accident, pedestrian accident, work accident or construction accident, it is important to contact the best personal injury attorneys in South Florida-Advocates USA. It is essential to understand your policy and your rights before speaking to any insurance companies or making any statements. Call our experienced personal injury lawyers for your legal advice. Once you make a statement, it will be documented and may be difficult to retract anything said. If you have been injured, you want to receive compensation that is deserved, and our Florida car accident lawyers help injured victims recover the most compensation possible.  

The most common mistakes people make when filing a claim after an auto accident in Florida are:

People provide a written or recorded statement before knowing and understanding their policy

Accept an estimate or an appraisal that is not realistic or fair

Accepts payments from insurance companies that are marked “final payment,” which means you agree not to pursue further action

Accident victims sign a waiver or release without speaking to an experienced car accident attorney first

Some people will accept the first settlement that is offered, thinking it may be a large sum or because they don’t want to go through the hassle anymore. Insurance companies do not have the best interest in victims and tend to undervalue their injuries.  

If you or a loved one are a victim of a car accident and have sustained injuries, contact an auto accident attorney in South Florida to discuss your options. Contact Advocates USA for a free consultation at 1-800-872-4878 or fill out our contact form. It is never too late to be represented. You do not want to lose out on the opportunity to recover compensation. As South Florida’s top personal injury attorneys, you will not pay anything until we settle or win your lawsuit.

Our personal injury attorneys at Advocates USA service all South Florida from Miami, Coconut Creek, Jupiter, Delray Beach, Boca Raton, Pompano, Deerfield Beach, Fort Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Palm Beach up to Port St. Lucie. Our experienced accident attorneys help victims who have suffered injuries in the following areas:

Legal areas of Advocates USA:

Car accidents

Work accidents

Motorcycle accidents

Accidents aboard Uber

Pedestrian accidents

Frecuently ask questions after an accident

FREE CASE EVALUATION

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Name

Everything you need to know about hiring A personal Injury attorney

Scarlett Estevez

I was referred to this office by a friend of mine who had her case handle by attorney, Marcos Gonzalez. I was very pleased with Mr. Gonzalez and his staff. Everyone is very nice and I got a great outcome on my settlement. I Would recommend this firm to anyone looking for a PI or Workers’ compensation attorney. Thank you guys! Keep up the good work. Scarlett Estevez

Vanessa Orozco

Excellent friendly office!!! Had an amazing experience everyone was super helpful and they worked their tails off to get me max dollar for my case .. Marcos Gonzalez amazing person hire him you won’t regret it !!!!

Vanessa Orozco